Printer-friendly Page

Do you know the correct decision in these (not so every day) situations ?

LOTG = Laws Of The Game

  • Situation :https://ivrnethosting.com/windsorsoccer/clientuploads/Referees/th (7).jpg

The referee stops the game while the ball is in play, to attend to an injured player. When the play was stopped, the ball was in the penalty area of the defending team and the restart will therefore take place on that spot. Once the injured player is attended to, the referee restarts the game with a dropped ball. The ball hits the ground and a player on the attacking team kicks the ball forward and scores a goal.

  • Question :

What is the correct restart ?

  • LOTG Reference :

Law 8 - The start and restart of play.

"If the ball enters the goal" : "If a dropped ball is kicked directly into the opponent's goal, a goal kick is awarded".

  • Answer :

The correct restart is a GOAL KICK. The goal is not awarded.

(NOTE : If the ball is kicked into the goal by a player on the defending team, a CORNER KICK would be awarded.

In other words : A goal CAN NOT be scored directly from a dropped ball.


  • Situation :https://ivrnethosting.com/windsorsoccer/clientuploads/Referees/th (8).jpg

After a foul is committed inside the penalty area, the referee awards a penalty kick to the attacking team. When the player takes the penalty kick, the ball rebounds from the goal post and it comes back to the same player who now kicks the ball again and scores a goal.

  • Question :

What is the correct restart ?

  • LOTG Reference :

Law 14 - The penalty kick.

"If, after the penaly kick has been taken" : "the kicker touches the ball again (except with his hands) before it has touched another player"

"an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team, the free kick to be taken from the place where the infringement occurred"

  • Answer :

The correct restart is a INDIRECT FREE KICK to the opposing team. The goal is not awarded.

(NOTE : If the ball is handled by the player, a DIRECT FREE KICK would be awarded to the opposing team).

 In other words : The player who takes the penalty kick CAN NOT touch the ball again, until it has been touched by another player.


  •  Situation :

The defending team is awarded a free kick inside their own penalty area. When one of the defenders takes the kick, a player of the attacking team runs inside the penalty area, kicks the ball and scores a goal.

  • Question :

What is the correct restart ?

  • LOTG Reference :

Law 13 - Free kicks.

"Free kick inside the penalty area"

Direct or indirect free kick to the DEFENDING team :

"All opponents must remain outside the penalty area until the ball is in play". " The ball is in play when it is kicked directly out of the penalty area``

"an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team, the free kick to be taken from the place where the infringement occurred"

  • Answer :

The correct restart is a re-take of the original free kick, as the ball was never in play. The goal is not awarded.

(NOTE : Further requirements to a free kick, to be taken by the defending team inside their own penalty area are :

All opponents must be at least 10 yrds from the ball.

a free kick awarded in the GOAL area may be taken from ANY point inside that area).

 In other words : The ball is NOT in play until it has left the penalty are, BOTH on a goal kick, as well as a free kick to the defending team.


  •  Situation :

https://ivrnethosting.com/windsorsoccer/clientuploads/Referees/th (9).jpgDuring the game, there has been a steady rainfall, but the field is still playable. At some point, the referee awards a penalty kick after a foul has been committed inside the penalty area. As the player of the attacking approaches to place the ball, he notices the penalty spot is now in a puddle of water and he proceeds to place the ball outside of that puddle with the result that the ball is now no longer on the penalty spot.

  • Question :

Is the player allowed to do this ?

  • LOTG Reference :

Law 14 - The penalty kick.

``The ball must be placed on the penalty mark``

  • Answer :

The referee shall NOT allow the penalty kick to be taken if the ball is NOT on the penalty spot and will have the player reposition the ball on the penalty spot before the penalty kick can be taken.

(NOTE : Although it is understandable the player wants to place the ball outside of the puddle of water, said player taking the penalty kick would have an unfair advantage).


 

  • Situation :https://ivrnethosting.com/windsorsoccer/clientuploads/Referees/th (11).jpg

After a goal is scored and before play restarts, the referee realizes (or is made aware) that one of the teams has an extra person on the field.

  • Question :

What is the correct decision ?

  • LOTG Reference :

Law 3 - Number of players.

"Goal scored with an extra person on the field"

If, after a goal is scored, the referee realizes, before play restarts, that there was an extra person on the field of play when the goal was scored :

The referee must DISALLOW the goal if :

  • The extra person was an outside agent AND he interfered with play.
  • The extra person was a player, substitute, or substituted player or team official associated with the team that scored the goal.

The referee must ALLOW the goal if :

  • The extra person was an outside agent who did NOT interfere with play.
  • The extra person was a player, substitute, or substituted player or team official associated with the team that conceded the goal.
  • Answer :

The correct answer is based on the circumstances as described above.

Restart :

  • If goal is disallowed : GOAL KICK.
  • If goal is allowed : KICK-OFF.

  • Situation :https://ivrnethosting.com/windsorsoccer/clientuploads/Referees/th (12).jpg

During the game, a player on one of the teams takes a shot at goal. The shot would have missed, however, the ball hits the referee and the ball deflects from the referee into the opponent`s goal.

  • Question :

What is the correct restart ?

  • LOTG Reference :

Law 9 - The ball in and out of play.

"The ball inside the field of play touches a person other than a player"

"If, when the ball is in play, it touches the referee or an assistant referee who is temporarily on the field of play, play continues because the referee and the assistant referee are part of the match`.

  • Answer :

The correct restart is a kick-off. The goal is awarded.


  • Situation :

https://ivrnethosting.com/windsorsoccer/clientuploads/Referees/th (13).jpgAs we all know, the goal keeper is not allowed to handle the ball when it is passed back to him by a team mate with any part of the leg below the knee. During game play, a defender wants to play the ball back to his goalie and tips the ball with his foot onto his head and subsequently heads the ball back to his goalie, so that the goalie can now handle the ball.

  • Question :

Is this allowed ?

  • LOTG Reference :

Law 12 - Fouls and misconduct.

"Cautions for unsporting behavior"

"There are different circumstances when a player must be cuationed for unsporting behaviour, e.g. if a player...."

  • "Uses a deliberate trick while the ball is in play to pass the ball to his own goalkeeper with his head, chest, knee, etc., in order to circumvent the Law, IRRESPECTIVE of whether the goalkeeper touches the ball with his hands or not. The offence is committed by the player in attempting to circumvent both the letter and the spirit of Law 12 and play is restarted with an indirect free kick
  • Answer :

In this situation, an indirect free kick will be awarded to the opponent and a caution shall be given the player committing the foul for unsporting behavior.